Diploma of Hydraulic Services Design

Individuals considering a career in Hydraulic Engineering are encouraged to complete the Diploma of Hydraulic Services Design - CPC50620 (the Diploma) conducted by a Registered Training Organisation (RTO). To be able to participate in the Diploma, you must first have attained a satisfactory level of achievement in the Certificate IV in Plumbing and Services - CPC40920 - Hydraulic Services Design pathway.

It is noted that the pre-requisite entry requirements for the Diploma are as follows:

  • CPC40920 Certificate IV in Plumbing and Services or
  • CPC40912 Certificate IV in Plumbing and Services and CPCPCM4015 Access and interpret regulatory requirements for the plumbing and services industry.

Therefore, if you hold the older Cert IV (40912 or earlier), you will need to complete the gap training of the CPCPCM4015 Unit outlined above before being able to enrol in the Diploma. Further to this, it is also strongly recommended that you complete the CPDCPCM4013 Produce 2-D Architectural Drawings Using Design Software unit as this will help you immensely in completing the Diploma. 

At 29/03/23, TAFE (NSW) is the only RTO that the HCAA are aware of that are offering full delivery of the Diploma within Australia. As many of you will be aware, this course has a substantial Waiting List. The waiting list was created while the course material was being re-written, but has grown during COVID disruptions and while the course is currently being run at St. Leonards, the hinderance in reducing the waiting list is now coming from a lack of teaching staff in the industry.

The HCAA has had very preliminary discussions with other RTO's considering the delivery of the Diploma to supplement the work being done at TAFE (NSW). However, the HCAA has not been provided with any detailed information of this to date and do not know when this would commence. The HCAA Education team will be sure to pass on any information about alternative study paths as soon as we have it.

Certrtificate IV in Plumbing and Services

An individual can enter the Certrtificate IV in Plumbing and Services - Hydraulic Services Design pathway with no pre-requisite entry requirements. If a students wishes to enter the Certrtificate IV in Plumbing and Services - Operations pathway, they must hold a Certificate III in Plumbing or be authorised to undertake plumbing work by an Australian regulator/licensing body.

The difference between the 2 x pathways is as follows:

  • An individual would typically choose to complete the Operations pathway if they are intending on getting their Plumbing License,
  • An individual would typically choose to complete the Hydraulic Services Design pathway if they are intending on progressing into the Diploma of Hydraulic Services Design.

The Course requirements outline the differences between the 2 pathways which is essentially the Elective Units that you are required to complete. Detail about Units can be found here.

While it is not a requirement that you have completed Year 12 (or equivalent), it is recommended that you do so and study subjects including English, Maths, Science, Engineering Science, Technical Drawing or equivalent subjects, as these will help develop skills that you will use as a Hydraulic Consultant.

Further information about the Diploma can be found here on the training.gov.au website.

Continuing Professional Development for HCAA Members

The HCAA runs a Continuing Professional Development (CPD) program for our members. Click here for detailed information about this program.